How to delete your Instagram account permanently or deactivate temporarily

Instagram is one of the most popular social media sites around — and one of the most addicting. If you want to tone down your Instagram habits, you can always delete or deactivate your Instagram account.
If you’ve made the decision to delete Instagram, whether because you’ve outgrown the need for a certain finsta or because its parent company Meta is courting controversy again, doing so isn’t as quick or easy as it should be. Up until recently, it couldn’t even be done from within the Instagram app.

To request the permanent deletion of your account:

Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (such as your photos and posts) from Instagram. After your account has been deleted, you will not have access to Instagram’s Data Download tool.

– Go to the Delete your account Page from a mobile browser or computer. If you aren’t logged in to Instagram on the web, you’ll be asked to log in first. You can’t delete your account from within the Instagram app.
– Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu.
– Click or tap Delete [username].

How to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily

If you think you want to recover your Instagram account later, you should disable it temporarily. This hides it from public view, but lets you restore it whenever you like.

1. Log into your Instagram account on the web and go to your profile page, then click Edit profile at the top of the page.

2. At the bottom of the page that opens, select Temporarily disable my account.

3. Select a reason that you’re disabling your account and re-enter your password.

4. Click Temporarily Disable Account.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

  +  57  =  sixty